Makeover Time!

Hey y’all!

I took another exciting step closer to girlhood. On Tuesday afternoon, from the recommendation of almost everyone online, I went to Sephora to see about getting a makeover, and had an amazing experience! I walked in and tried to be not nervous or suspicious at all, trying to act as naturally as possible, and was approached by an employee who asked how she could help. I explained that I was transgender and trying to get started in makeup, and she asked me questions about a natural versus glam look. I had no idea what she was talking about, so she grabbed some foundation and took me over to the stand. This girl was awesome, she talked me though the process and what she was doing, asking me all kinds of questions about my transition, and making sure that I wasn’t scared or uncomfortable. She was amazing and I wanted to be her friend, and we scheduled my full makeover for the next day. I could not stop smiling the entire drive home; I was on top of the world. I felt sexy for the first time in my life.

The next day I went back in, and waited a few minutes before they got started. They started out by prepping my skin with all of these moisturizers and other products, to be honest, I don’t remember them all. It felt nice to be pampered like that. Eventually my artist came and the makeover itself got started. She actually started with eye shadow, and showing and teaching me how to apply it since eye shadow is something I can wear more discreetly. The girls who were there all gave me compliments on my eyes, which normally I don’t like being complimented, but I loved it this time. They all made me feel like I was just another girl who came in to get a new look. She put on the foundation I tried the day, contoured for a more feminine appearance, and ultimately finishing off with a cute natural lip color. In fact, when she was done, some random girl, who wasn’t an employee, came by and told me what how pretty she thought my lip color was. I felt pretty, and didn’t want to take it off. I took several selfies of myself before taking it off, which I never quite liked taking selfies, but it was fun this time seeing myself all dolled up.

The entire experience was nothing short of euphoric. I felt like just another girl when I was in that chair, which has someone who has more social dysphoria, was the best possible experience. In fact, even a friend of mine’s son thought I was a girl in the picture, which made me smile even more. Even though I am and see myself being more a tomboy than a girly-girl, I definitely think that I’ll be wearing makeup more than I thought. I realized that part of it is that it just makes me feel better about myself, I feel more attractive when I am wearing it. I still have a lot to learn about makeup and how to apply it, but I am very glad that I decided to go.

2 thoughts on “Makeover Time!

  1. I remember people asking, “Is this what you think womanhood is all about, makeup?”

    And no, it isn’t, of course – but the point is, it’s a way to exert control over the way people see us and the way we see ourselves that can be very healing, especially at first. It’s a way to say something about who we are. I’ve gradually backed off on it over the years, but I still remember how magic it felt to be able to say “I’m more than what everybody has always seen in me”.

    Like

Leave a comment